. . . . . . : : : : CD REVIEWS : : : : . . . . . .
Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this SECTION are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of our Agency (THE PAIN FUCKTORY). 
Comments on this "reviews" are the sole responsibility of their writers.

Current Reviewers:
Mike Mieland (USA)
Emil Frøsig (Denmark)
Maurice Jonas (Netherlands)
Ewza Lambert (Australia)
Darkest G.

SAGORAH "I"

Tracklist
1. Purity and Vanity 01:48 
2. And We Cry 04:00 
3. Meat Time 03:56 
4. In the Mirror 03:24 
5. Endless Pain 03:57 
6. Cocaine Cowboy 05:32 
7. Mindfucked 05:22 

Running Time: 27:59  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Emil Frøsig

 

SAGORAH
"I" CD
Label: New Port Studios
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death / Groove Metal  
Country: Italy

Hailing from Italy comes a 5 piece death-trash band called Sagorah.

''I'' is the bands first effort, and perfectly illustrates what the band is going for, in terms of attitude and musical message.
First track on the record is ''Purity and Vanity'' which in contrast to the rest of the album is melodic, orchestrated and made me double check the CD cover... It said death metal right? It is a cool intro, because what follows after is exactly what you think when you hear the term ''Death-trash metal'', and takes you completely by surprise.

Fast forward riffs, a lot of blast beats and a powerful vocal is how one would describe Sagorah in the just a few words. The first half of the record comes of as much of the same, but as the songs go on the music starts to go in different
directions and switch up the tempos and make things more interesting.
One thing I really like about ''I'' is the drums. The thing that usually separates a bad drummer from a good drummer is not how fast or technical they play, but how they fit into the music. 

Julian Niederkofler is a viscous drummer behind the kit, and knows where to be loud and where to sit back and let the
rest of the band be in the spotlight. And being a drummer myself, that is hugely appreciated.

The guitars are as you expect, tight and bombastic. Not a huge fan of their tone, I find it to be a little thin, but
in regards to this you can actually hear the bass, so everything is balanced out fairly well after all.

As mentioned before, the vocals are strong and powerful, with very little variety but a lot of aggression. I get hints and bits of what the lyrics are from to time, and compared to a lot of other bands in this genre it is not grating on my ears.

So all in all ''I'' is a solid release and you have to admire that this is coming from a band that is not even 2 years old. That is pretty impressive.

I like it. 8/10

And on a last note:
Go buy their T-shirt. The one that says ''Cocaine Cowboy'' on the back.
The front design is fucking gorgeous. 
Thanks a bunch, guys!

Added: August 03, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

ACCELERATOR "When the World Turns Black"

Tracklist
1. When the World Turns Black 02:32 
2. The Pale Rider 04:20 
3. Thrash Till' Death 01:59 
4. Killing Machine 03:20 
5. Sexaholic 03:29

Running Time: 15:40  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Mike Mieland

 

ACCELERATOR
"When the World Turns Black" EP
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Thrash Metal  
Country: USA

I am a huge thrash metal fan. Figured I would throw that one out there. This band was pretty cool to jam out to. Very skillful band with clearly a great love for thrash metal as well. The drums are pounding, the solos are loud high pitched notes played very fastly. Hell, the entire album fastly flies right on by. Thrash, everybody. Good jams. Thats not to say it is a flawless release. Not even close. I truly think the lyrics for "Thrash Till Death" might be the dumbest bunch of words that I have heard on a thrash album. And I have heard Municipal Waste. The vocals need to figure it out too. Some of it sounds good.. Some of it just sounds funny to me. Definitely not anything ground breaking to be found on this album, but cool jams none the less. If you are looking for the next big band in thrash, move along. If you want to bob your head to cool thrash sounds and hear some so-so vocals, this is for you.

Pros: -fun to hear -talent level

Cons - song "thrash till death" so so so so stupid. -vocal issues -this album overall is the polar opposite of originality

5.5/10

Added: July 04, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

APALLIC "Somnium"

Tracklist
1. The Awakening 
2. Mental Prison 
3. Deranged   

Running Time: 08:17  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Mike Mieland

 

APALLIC
"Somnium" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Progressive Death Metal  
Country: Germany

This bands release 100% reminds me of "The Crushing" by Amon Amarth. Ironically enough, thats really the only album I liked from them. These guys are just a tad heavier, but the similarities are impossible to ignore. Not a bad album. It was good enough if you just want to spin your head to some heavy stuff. I enjoyed it, but i probably wont be anxiously awaiting their next release. I am a huge fan of guitar solos and there are zero on this album. Everyone just kind of seems like they are on auto pilot. It was fast, it was heavy, it was enjoyable.. But for whatever reason, i just dont really care to ever hear it again or actively follow these guys. Good enough release I suppose.. But i still cant drive myself to care. Solid effort none the less.

Pros: -sound quality -inhuman drummer -some redeeming riffage

Cons: - "the crushing" knock off - fun but not quite as fun as it could have been

6.5/10

Added: July 04, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

GMORK "Ave Nihil"

Tracklist
1. Intro 01:16 
2. Коловращение 03:42 
3. Истоки талой воды 02:50 
4. Весна (Ближе к корням) 03:24 
5. Манифест силы 04:50 
6. Бесконечное увядание 05:05 
7. Последний корабль 04:44 
8. Уроборос 06:40 
9. Outro 04:14   

Running Time: 36:45  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Mike Mieland

 

GMORK
"Ave Nihil" CD
Label: NitroAtmosfericum Records 
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Russia

This album flew right by when I put it on. It sounds great too. This definitely was not recorded in a buddies garage. Spectacular recording job. Excellent performances as well from the band. I am not even close to the biggest black metal fan out there, but these dudes kicked ass. The riffs were crushing, cunning, and in your face. The drumming was just total non stop action. The mood was spooky. The singers layered parts sounded absolutely demonic. I could not understand much of what he was saying.. but he sounded cool.. That kind of thing also kind of comes with listening to heavy stuff.. So its not entirely a knock on the guy. The strings sounded great and the keys of course added to the dark atmosphere they were trying to present. Mission accomplished. I absolutely recommend this band to fans of heavy music or black metal. The stand out track to me is the instrumental track near the end of the album. The riffs in that song (and the other songs) are KILLER!

Pros: -excellent sound quality -tremendous performance musically -never really got too bored with it.

Cons: Nothing really. Pretty solid recording I would say. 

7.5/10

Added: July 04, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

KORPSE "Unethical"

Tracklist
1. Conquer 01:12 
2. Collateral Casualties 03:17 
3. Incinerate 02:54 
4. Deformed to the Extreme 03:15 
5. Stoneage 03:22 
6. Cleaning the Aftermath 03:46 
7. Cannibal Warlords 01:09 
8. Unethical 04:54 
9. Retaliation 04:29 
10. Monastery Waste 03:34 
11. Eternal Misery 02:56   

Running Time: 34:48  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Mike Mieland

 

KORPSE
"Unethical" CD
Label: Rising Nemesis Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Brutal Death Metal  
Country: Netherlands

Well then.. That was heavy as all hell. It was comically heavy almost. I often found myself smiling or chuckling at the complete chaos that I was being subjected too. This album more or less was a work out. I feel like a power drill just went in one ear and out the other. Typical slam style death metal band at the end of the day. Heavy chugging catchy riffs with harsh sounding breakdowns. Obnoxiously fast blast beats and double bass. And of course gutteral shouts and pig squeals that probably dont even come close to the lyrics written. haha. That is just that style, and i dug this record. It was completely relentless and fun to hear. The drummer definitely has the hardest job and is the MVP of this album. Congrats bud, you are one brutal s.o.b. The songs blend together after a while, but who cares. This was a badass album.

Pros: - insanely heavy - cyborg drummer

Cons: - kind of just a run of the mill slam death metal record. Nothing too ground breaking or must hear.

7/10

Added: July 04, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

CREINIUM "Hallucinosis"

Tracklist
1. Hallucinosis 01:53 
2. Seams 06:20 
3. Astral Strain 05:24 
4. The Ophidian Heir 06:26 
5. Vigilance 04:28 
6. Passage to an Altered Portrait 04:25 
7. Conscious Eclipse 06:08 
8. Solarbound Colony 06:48 
9. The Diminished Perception 08:25 
10. Prometheus Through Immolation 05:33 
11. Compulsive Transition 01:15 
12. God Monument 08:10  

Running Time: 01:05:15  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

CREINIUM
"Hallucinosis" CD
Label: Inverse Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Hybrid Metal  
Country: Finland
Wow! I got engaged with this album. Pretty interesting material the one these Finnish guys present us here with their “Hallucinosis”. 12 tracks of an interesting mixture of Black, Death Metal with symphonic atmospheres thanks to the keyboards played here. 

Though they may sound, at certain point, a little similar to bands such as Dimmu Borgir, it is not all the time. Good Death Metal growls, and a combination of slow – mid paced – fast riffs, which have a lot of melodic but with certain epic inclination, make of this production something appealing. There even I think I heard some kinda jazz sounds… so, as you can see, it is not something enclosed in only one thing, a little bit repetitive in some moments, though.

I enjoyed this production, I must confess, and I could listen to it more than once while reading or doing some activities that fit this sort of tenebrous atmosphere the band creates.

Rate: 7.5/10

Added: June 29, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SINTAX "Sway for a Better Day"

Tracklist
1. Intro 00:16 
2. Sway for a Better Day 04:46 
3. Let's Get Mental 05:14 
4. Four More Years 05:12 
5. Fine Line to Sodomy 04:28 
6. The Answer... the Name... 03:36 
7. I Get It Now 04:09 
8. Up for the Physical 05:03   

Running Time: 32:44
FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

SINTAX
"Sway for a Better Day" CD
Label: Inverse Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Thrash Groove Metal  
Country: Israel
Well… imagine Megadeth in the “Youthanasia” mixed with some Pantera in the “Far Beyond Driven”, and this is what you will hear in this production by Israel’s Sintax.

With eight tracks, “Sway for a better day” was not actually the album I would have liked to end my day up. If it was kind of interesting? Somehow it was, since it reminded me my teen age when, and together with it good memories of the Metal scene here in my city, one that basically does not exist anymore though it hurts to admit it. But, the other good question, is there anything else to say? To be honest, not too much, except that it is notorious these guys are good musicians, but it is definitely for me. 

Anyways, if you would like to listen to a production with the description I gave above, it is ok, in the end, to each his own.

Rate: 4/10

Added: June 29, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SLAVE ONE "Disclosed Dioptric Principles"

Tracklist
1. Deus Otiosus 03:13 
2. The Antikythera Mechanism 05:00 
3. Obsidian Protocol Achievement 05:13 
4. For Shiva Whispered the Universe 04:41 
5. Aeon Dissonance 04:32 
6. Liquid Transcendental Echoes 11:28 
7. Degenesis 03:15  

Running Time: 37:22  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

SLAVE ONE
"Disclosed Dioptric Principles" CD
Label: Dolorem Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: France
I think I said this in a prior review, but it is never enough when clarifying certain things, so, here I come. I’m not too into tech Death Metal… it is not my cup of tea and I don’t think it will be. Well, once having said this, you might think Slave One is a Tech Death Metal band… yes, it is, a French one, so you may also think I will say this is not for me… and… No! Damn it! Even though the opening of this production made me say: Fuck!!! One more band that mixes this shit! Then, I got a serious slap on the face with the tracks “Disclosed Dioptric Principles” have.

These guys really knew how to mix Death Metal with technical parts but very carefully leaving the obscure essence the first genre needs. Not only that, there was a moment (“Degenesis” the last track of the album) that reminded me of Dead Can Dance in some way. Fuck… I cannot say this is my favorite album this year, but it definitely got my attention and made me replay some tracks, which is very difficult when it comes from Tech Death Metal. So, check it. It actually deserves it.

Rate: 7/10

Added: June 29, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

Cień "Time of Anti-Humanity"

Tracklist
1. Existance 06:12 
2. Farewell 05:07 
3. Glory and Salvation 05:47 
4. Born in Pain 09:46 
5. World Is a Void 05:39 
6. Odchodząc (Republika cover) 03:33 
7. Despair Tears and Blood 07:06 
8. Where Is Your God 05:45 
9. The Wave 04:44 
10. Dead or Alive 04:43 
11. The Clock 09:22  

Running Time: 01:07:44  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

Cień
"Time of Anti-Humanity" CD
Label:
Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Poland
This is a compilation CD of the early material recorded by Polish Black Metal act Cien. It brings us 11 tracks that form part of their demo “Anti-humanity” and the EP “Time of desolation”. As I said before, the band plays Black Metal, but not symphonic or beautiful BM, it is really into the old school vein, including harsh and fast riffs that from time to time are mix with a heavy atmosphere. Putting the prior together with good vocals and well played drums make this a good material to listen. I am saying all of since it is the very first time I listen to any material by this band, and it reminded me of old Mayhem or Darkthrone so it really got my attention, probably if you are in the same situation you may agree with me.

To be honest, I really enjoy all the material Old Temple records releases, and this is not the exception. It actually fit the cold weather we are having today in my hometown.

Rate: 8/10

Added: June 27, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DENOMINATE "Those Who Beheld The End"

Tracklist
01. In A Chasm Of Stone
02. Degradation
03. Penumbra
04. The Demented Scholar of Abatos
05. Torments of Silence
06. Apeirophobia
07. Terrestrial Funeral

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

DENOMINATE
"Those Who Beheld The End" CD
Label: Inverse Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Technical Death Metal  
Country: Finland
At last, a little break at work is the best opportunity to listen to some extreme Metal! And to be honest, it is worthy! Finnish DENOMINATE bring us their new full length, which is to be released next Agugust, and let me tell you it is more than good. I feel I am lucky to hear this kind of production in order to enjoy myself before my students come. So, here we go.

“Those who beheld the end” by Denominate starts with an explosive great track entitled “In a chasm of Stone”. This track caught my attention from second one since it reminds me of one of the best albums ever, at least for me, “Dawn of the Apocalypse” by mighty Vital Remains. Yes, sirs! Extreme, brutal and, at the same time, technical! This is the first impression I got from this production… in a few words… AMAZING!

The production, containing seven tracks, develops around the idea of Progressive, brutal and technical Death Metal. There are some tracks, and moments, that let you find certain influences of bands such as Death, Behemoth, Demilich and even Carcass from time to time. Can you imagine what you can listen to if getting this release?

Rate: 9/10

Added: June 27, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

VILEMASS "Drilled By Bullets"

Tracklist
1. Vulgar Religion 03:35 
2. Drilled by Bullets 03:55 
3. Illuminati 04:10 
4. War Machine 03:52 
5. Trapped 05:21 
6. Lizard Law 03:09 

Running Time: 24:02  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

VILEMASS
"Drilled By Bullets" EP
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death Thrash Metal  
Country: Italy
Definitely I think that today I’m lucky, really lucky! Besides what could have happened at work or personally, sitting down in front of the laptop and listen to these kind of CDs to review is just such a great ending to my day. 

Vilemass, a trio from Italy brings that brutal old sound of the 90s that made bands such as Cannibal Corpse or Nile what they are now, but not only the sound in style, but the same harsh sound the guitars used to have in the demos of those times, so imagine how good I feel right now! I am close to having an orgasm. 

As I said before, the influences you might find in this EP (unfortunately it only has 6 tracks) are old Cannibal Corpse, Nile, Morbid Angel. In general, this production has a good sound that makes you feel like in mid - late 90s. You cannot miss it!

Rate: 9/10

Added: June 27, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SHODAN "Protocol Of Dying"

Tracklist
1. Shrine 04:53 
2. Immaculate Deception 05:06 
3. This World Means Nothing 04:57 
4. No Dignity 05:03 
5. La Raine du Bal 05:39 
6. Nails 05:05 
7. Beloved Manticore 03:25 
8. Protocol of Dying 05:32 

Running Time: 39:40  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

SHODAN
"Protocol Of Dying" CD
Label:
Deformeathing Prods.
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Technical Death Metal  
Country: Poland
Brutality, brutality, beautiful and technical brutality from Poland!!! Fuck!! I just love when I listen to an opening like the one “Shrine” (the first track “Protocol of dying” by Shodan). Simply beautifully played Death Metal. 

I must really say that every single aspect of this release is simply awesome. Guitars are heavy and technical, boarding not only Classic Death Metal, but going through a good range of styles including Swedish Death Metal to some kind of Strapping Young Lad style. Beyond instrumentation and a very good song writing, the voices performed in this production are great! They just have what I like, varying with different kinds of voices: growls, shrieks, guttural moments, among others. 

As I said, it is not typical Death Metal, but it doesn’t distort the essence of brutality and well played sickness. 

With 8 tracks and around 40 minutes, “Protocol of Dying” makes Shodan a band to take into consideration when looking for new good extreme bands.

Rate: 9.5/10 

Added: June 27, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SLAUGHTBBATH "Hail To Fire"

Tracklist
1. Awakened to Slay 03:17 
2. Dethroned, Burnt and Spat Upon 02:32 
3. True Power Knows No Mercy 03:19 
4. Impale Them 04:49 
5. Doomsday Cenotaph 05:06 
6. Blackburn 03:40 
7. Burn the Traitors 04:19 
8. Hail to Fire 03:07 
9. Barbaric Cruelty Reigns 04:27 

Running Time: 34:36  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

SLAUGHTBBATH
"Hail To Fire" CD
Label:
Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Chile
At this point I consider it is very unlikely somebody who is into Extreme Metal does not know about this Chilean bestial monster called Slaughtbbath. Well, this is a re-edition of their first full length made by Old Temple prods. Here, Slaughtbbath presented us, some years ago, 9 tracks of hellish and bestial Blackened Death metal in the vein of bands such as Black Witchery, early Impaled Nazarene, Archgoat, Bestial Warlust and even Angel Corpse, so in other words… Insane, blasphemous, fast, bestial fucking Blackened Death Metal. There is no other way of defining this master piece of Extreme Metal.

If you have never listened to Slaughtbbath and you like chaos, so, stop jerking off and get this production ASAP.

Rate: 10/10

Added: June 27, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

PATHOGEN/DEATHEVOKER "Consecrated In Morbidity"

Tracklist
1. Pathogen - Mortuphagia 06:30 
2. Pathogen - Dominion 01:13 
3. Pathogen - Blood and Soil (Bathory cover) 04:02 
4. Pathogen - Sacrilegous Profanation (Live 5.19.2014) 05:05 
5. Deathevoker - Hatefull Quest 02:49 
6. Deathevoker - The Silence...Death 02:48 
7. Deathevoker - Fleshcraver 01:37 
8. Deathevoker - Bottomless River of Death 02:02 
9. Deathevoker - Troops of Doom (Sepultura cover) 03:20 

Running Time: 29:26  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

PATHOGEN/DEATHEVOKER
"Consecrated In Morbidity" Split CD
Label: Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Philippines / Malaysia
This is definitely an interesting CD to review since it is a Split of two bands that I, and I need to be honest when saying it, had not known until the moment I played this production.

Pathogen is a band that comes from Phillipines that, as I read on some webs (yes, I like to investigate, hehe), has been playing for some time and has released more than one production that has received good comments. And actually, there is nothing I have to say opposite to I since what I hear in this Split is actually good stuff in the vein of old school Death Metal (and I love that), including the sound of their recording. 

In their part of the split, Pathogen present us 4 tracks that get your attention immediately. 2 of these songs are studio, one is a cover by Bathory, “Blood and Soil”, and the other is a live version. 

You may be wondering what kind of influences you can find here. Yes, I know I said old school, but in some way what you can find here old (demo version and first albums) Morbid Angel, Deicide, Possessed.

But, What about Deathevoker? Malaysia is bringing us one of its offspring, young ones who play really good Old School Death Metal with more Swedish influence. Listening to their tracks may remind you of old Entombed and Dismember. The sound in this part of the Split is better than the previous, and music is still as beautiful (figuratively) as the prior one. 

I really enjoyed a lot this part with those twisted morbid melodies some of their tracks have. Very well written songs that if do not present us something new, who cares? It is something you can feel like living in the 90s, with this “Indecent and Obscene” like sound. 

They present us 5 songs, one of which is Sepultura’s cover “Troops of Doom”.
Definitely a Split you have to pay attention as it presents us two really good Asian bands that in some cases are difficult to get to know in the normal day to day life.

Rate: 8.5/10

Added: June 27, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

NYX AETHER "Elyxir For Trance"

Tracklist
1. Elixir for Trance 07:56 
2. Odyssey of the Forlorn 05:47 
3. Scions of the Scorn 04:32 

Running Time: 18:15  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

NYX AETHER
"Elyxir For Trance" EP
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Symphonic Doom Metal  
Country: Netherlands
Lets just go ahead and get this out of the way.. This womans voice is just great. She can really project those notes! Powerful. The backing vocals add to the intensity big time and just helps spice up the flavor offered by this EP. The melodic parts just sound absolutely beautiful. Just as the heavy parts sound pummeling and blackened. Very unique sound overall presented here. I can't imagine it being easy to bring all this to life in a live setting either.. So big time credit. Very interesting listen, and it flies right on by.. Despite the long song times. The band is just immensely talented as well and their performance is flawless and sounds great. Very surprising EP here. Very very well done. This band will probably be rolling in money one day, and it's an honor to review their stuff.

Pros: -Good production values. -Very very high talent levels from everyone involved. Wow. -Originality.

Cons: Not much.

8.5/10

Added: June 22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

EVENFALL "Taking the Sealed Passage"

Tracklist
1. Dusk 02:09 
2. A Cry for Help 06:11 
3. These Moments of Truth 05:24 
4. Dreaming Tomorrow's Nightmare 04:35 
5. Kill Blow 04:02 
6. From Filth We Rise 04:48 
7. The Seal We Break 05:37 
8. There and Back Again 06:05 
9. When It Goes 08:49  

Running Time: 47:40  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

EVENFALL
"Taking the Sealed Passage" CD
Label: Born Dead Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Melodic Death Metal  
Country: USA
Shit! This is quite interesting! As you, the ones who have read some of my previous reviews, know, I am more into extreme or old school stuff, but this band took me by surprise. A melodic but interesting form of Death Metal that can be common in certain minutes, and unique in others is what Evenfall present in this “Taking the sealed passage”. Vocals are neat! The drums are just, for me, one of the best parts of the music. Something that doesn’t end up getting me is the synths. 

With 9 tracks, “Taking the sealed passage”can make you have a good time if you are not so close minded. If you like the latest albums of Arch Enemy you are most likely to like this production.

Rate: 8/10

Added: June 22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

FETOR "Abandoned Hope"

Tracklist
1. Proclamation of Brutality (Intro) 00:46 
2. Abandoned Hope 02:09 
3. At the Cradle of Judas 03:14 
4. The Stench upon Vultures Nest 01:57 
5. Worms in the Cross of Jesus 03:27 
6. From Neck to Crotch 02:29 
7. Needle in the Nail 02:57 
8. Show Me What You Have Got Inside 02:30 
9. Spanish Shoes 03:00 
10. Hangman's Dream 03:35 
11. Rusty Knife Between Your Eyes 04:10  

Running Time: 30:14  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

FETOR
"Abandoned Hope" CD
Label: Rotten Music
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Poland
Are you looking for brutality? Are you looking for something that keeps you head banging and emulating drummers while doing it? Well, this is for you. For sure! Brutal Death Metal made in Poland! 

It actually surprised me to listen to this production since the conception I have from Poland is more into Blackened Death Metal than extreme or Brutal one. I know, I know, I’m stereotyping. But actually, when things like this happen, it tends to be good in some way as in this case. I personally like the voices, which are ultra deep but not sounding like pigs’ shrieks (I hate them).

I recommend you giving this CD a try. I think it would be a good add to your collection.

Rate: 8/10

Added: June 22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SACRED SEAL "Incarnation"

Tracklist
1. Kama 06:05 
2. Vénus 04:19 
3. The Sphinx's Riddle 03:48 
4. Evilution 04:03 
5. Flow of Oblivion 04:20 
6. Me Myself and I 05:50 
7. Chains of Salvery 02:38 
8. Psychosis 04:23 
9. House of Sin 03:27 
10. Judas's Calling 03:53 
11. Over the Abyss 05:33 
12. Holy See 03:39 

Running Time: 51:58  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

SACRED SEAL
"Incarnation" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Heavy Metal  
Country: France
I must accept that I knew somehow this is what I was going to find, but not the good time I was going to spend listening to it. To start with, Sacred Seal is a French Heavy Metal act led by Nicky Daymond, a female vocalist who has more nuts and guts when singing than many Power Metal singers, that is something I can assure you without doubt. Yes, they play Heavy, but do not keep playing traditional one unless we consider it as their core style. As “Incarnation” passes by, you are going to find both Power and Progressive influences in their songs.

Something that is steady here is the real power the vocals add to the music. Musically talking, even though it is usually mid-pace along the album, this production is strong, good riffs, very dynamic drums, and a well-executed bass guitar. I have to say that the solos stand out.

This is an interesting production that keeps your attention from moment one. You can even find some influences of Iron Maiden in certain moments, but not all the time. Just get this production and you will see what I mean.

Rate: 8/10

Added: June 22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

PANYCHIDA "Haereticalia - The Night Battles"

Tracklist
1. The Wild Hunt Assembly 01:25 
2. Procession of the Dead 06:41 
3. The Night Consumes the Light 02:21 
4. Josafat (The Gathering) 04:59 
5. In Striacium 03:28 instrumental
6. Hunting the Witches 04:40 
7. ...for I Don't Cause the Evil 04:13 
8. The Livonian Werewolf 04:31 
9. Perchtenlaufen 03:51 instrumental
10. Alatyrĭ (live) 03:53 
11. Three Pillars (live) 05:32 
 

Running Time: 45:34  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

PANYCHIDA
"Haereticalia - The Night Battles" CD
Label: Cursed Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Pagan Metal  
Country: Czech republic
I do not normally listen to Pagan Black Metal bands. This style actually doesn’t get my attention that much. I consider I am more into fast music that aims to destroy your head and motivates you to bump into another human being in the pit. Fortunately, although what Czechs Panychida play this genre, I didn’t find it boring.

With good and varied riffs, Black Metal voices combined with some other types, and very cautious incursion of keyboards, this 11 track production (9 tracks in studio and 2 live bonus tracks) bought my curiosity from the very first track. With a classical influence in the introduction, which finishes with the voice of two girls, just took me to a real interesting land of paganism, good music and really good songwriting. I actually found myself surprised of really paying attention to different aspects this production has. The rhythm changes from kind of fast to melodic, even doomy parts, the smart use of every instrument and voice makes this production worthy enough to recommend it and not just as one more production that you may like, but as one you are going to like for sure.

Rate: 9.5/10

Added: June 22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DEMONIC RAGE  "Omen Of Doom"

Tracklist
1. The Occult Formulas to Desecrate Souls 05:01 
2. Shadows of Prophecy 03:28 
3. Crucifixion Wounds (Profanatica Cover) 01:42 
4. Ascending Heresies in Blasphemy 01:48 
5. Desecrating the False Divinity 08:04 
6. Repugnant Shapes in Aritualistic Coven of Death 03:42 
7. Sulphuric Congregation Towards... 05:24 
8. The Preacher's Deadmasses 03:05 
9. Drowned by the Shadows 03:11 
10. Elder Revenge 03:03 
11. Cadaver Christ's Desecration 00:48 
12. The Malefice (Pentagram Cover) 04:14 
13. The Beginning of Apocalyptic Enlightenment 03:51 
14. Everlasting Plagues of Nauseous Wickedness 02:45 
15. Desecrating the False Divinity 06:53 
16. Cadaver Christ's Desecration 00:43 
17. Evoking the Pestilence 02:58 
18. Desecrating the False Divinity 06:36 
19. Nephast Existence 02:33 
20. Nailed Christ 04:04 

Running Time: 01:13:53  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

DEMONIC RAGE
"Omen Of Doom" CD
Label:
Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Chile
This is what I call good Death Metal. Fuck yeah!! It’s incredible how I had never heard of this Chilean band before. Do you like pure fucking old death metal in the vein of Incantation? So this is what you will hear in this production that is not other thing than a Compilation CD that contains 20 tracks (around 70 minutes) taken from the band demos (2001 – 2011), so as you may imagine, the sound is raw but perfect for all the hellish destruction that attacks you from second one. 

There nothing else to say. Just get ready to get your soul destroyed with such blasphemous, obscure and brutally great music.

Rate: 9.5/10}

Added: June 22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

THE RITUAL AURA  "Laniakea"

Tracklist
1. Mythos of Sojourn 01:04 instrumental
2. Ectoplasm 03:30 
3. Time-Lost Utopia 03:50 
4. Era of the Xenotaph 04:24 
5. Nebulous Opus Pt, I 01:29 instrumental
6. Precursor of Aphotic Collapse 03:28 
7. Erased in the Purge 02:46 Show lyrics
8. Nebulous Opus Pt, II 04:12 instrumental
9. Laniakea 01:06 instrumental4  

Running Time: 25:49  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

THE RITUAL AURA
"Laniakea" CD
Label: Lacerated Enemy Records
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Technical/Death Metal  
Country: Australia
I have to be honest when saying what that I expected something kind of different when I saw both the cover and the logo of this production, although it was not that far from reality. What you can find here is less than 30 minutes full of Progressive Technical Death Metal with some synths that create a sci-fi atmosphere. 

I must confess that even though this genre is not necessarily my cup of tea, the intro with the sci-fi atmosphere I mentioned before, caught my attention immediately to later involve me in an interesting mix of musical proficiency, talking about instrumentation technique, and good changes between fast songwriting and groovy parts. Paying attention to the tracks presented in this production, I can find some influences of bands such as Death (Human, Individual Thought Patterns), Necrophagist or The Faceless, but the use of synths with the characteristics mentioned above give their music a sort of trademark. 

I enjoyed listening to a great part of this production, but probably because I am not too into this subgenre, there was a point when I found it boring and somewhat repetitive. 

This is not a bad production, indeed, but it may be more appreciated by a person who likes this kind of style.

Rate: 7.5/10

Added: June 15, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

STRAIGHT HATE  "Every Scum Is a Straight Arrow"

Tracklist
1. High Priest's Hand Gesture 00:51 
2. Don't Be So Cheap 01:00 
3. Beautiful Slut 00:56 
4. Self-Deception 01:10 
5. Lovely Family 01:42 
6. Fuck It This Is Grindcore 02:11 
7. Looking for a Victim 01:37 
8. The Defenders of Morality 01:29 
9. Disagreement 01:43 
10. Corporation 01:29 
11. Ludzki Szlam 01:34 
12. Extinction 01:41 
13. Impatient Diarrhea 01:09 
14. Old Friends 01:06 
15. The King of Everything 01:52 
16. Sofa Agent 01:50 
17. Tear the Flesh 02:14  

Running Time: 25:34  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

STRAIGHT HATE
"Every Scum Is a Straight Arrow" CD
Label: Deformeathing Prods.
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Grindcore/Death Metal  
Country: Poland
It’s been a long time since this happened to me. It really was enjoyable playing the recording and not wishing it to finish. I still remember the last time this occurred with an album of at the same genre but with some different approach, the tilte of this production was “Morgue sweet home” by Spanish Haemorrhage. Can you guess now what type of music this is? Of course, my horse! Grindcore, and of the best!

Polish Straight Hate bring us 27 minutes of intense Hardcore Grind with some Punk influences and great vocals. Musically I find some influence of old Napalm Death, Extreme Noise Terror and some Regurgitate. Vocals are awesome, mixing Death screams with harsh voices in a way that fits perfectly with the instrumentation. Some people may say: come on, it’s just a guy screaming, I have the correct answer to that… GO FUCK YOURSELF! Let me tell you something, not all growls fit the music played in extreme music. Anyway, fortunately, these guys know what they are doing.

Do you want a really good Grindcore production? Don’t hesitate and get this right away. 

Rate: 9.5/10

Added: June 15, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

OCCULTUM  "Towards Eternal Chaos"

Tracklist
1. End of the Light 04:44 
2. In Saecula Saeculorum Tenebrae 05:23 
3. Satan's Era 05:33 
4. Anthem of the Fallen World 06:45 
5. Black Quintessence 05:29 
6. Abomination 04:39 
7. Gehinnom Gate 06:35
 

Running Time: 39:08  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

OCCULTUM
"Towards Eternal Chaos" CD
Label: Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Poland
Black Metal from the start to the end. No beautiful sounds, no lyrical voices or things that may disguise the real idea of what Black Metal is from its beginnings, harsh, dark, cold, EXTREME! This is what the seven tracks “Towards Eternal Chaos” by Polish Occultum gives you. Almost 40 minutes of a very well played Black Metal with certain influences of bands such as old Watain, some of Dark Funeral or Beherit, and just harsh and kind of desperate blasphemous screams, make of this a very good production to listen to. 

Definitely, Poland is the cradle of one of the most extreme and darkest scenes in the world these days, and Occultum is not the exception.

Rate: 9/10

Added: June 14, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

HELLSPAWN  "There Has Never Been a Son of Me"

Tracklist
1. Do Not Be Among Idolatres 04:11 
2. Hung on a Tree, Damned by His Father 03:35 
3. Antitrinitarian 05:35 
4. For the Number Is Human 04:27 
5. Hallelujah 03:47 
6. Heralded by Prophets 04:19 
7. Upon Entering the Valley They Did Not Fear 02:51 
8. It Is Not Proper for the Gracious to Have a Son 03:52 
9. Santa Sindone 03:06 
10. There Has Never Been a Son of Me 07:03  

Running Time: 42:46  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

HELLSPAWN
"There Has Never Been a Son of Me" CD
Label: Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Poland
Welcome to a dark, brilliant and brutally exciting trip through a really good Death Metal album. Yes, sirs! This is what Polish Hellspawn bring us in these ten tracks that conform “There has never been a son of me”.

Although not original, which is just something that does not matter to be honest when it comes to be a beautifully written piece of music, this production resembles what Death Metal used to be like in times of monsters such as Morbid Angel, Deicide and old Vital Remains. This is the ink Hellspawn has used to write the story of this really good album. Riffs that vary from mid pace to fast, having some tremolo picking that gives this Black Metal sound to certain parts, and some incursions of even incursions of keyboards that create some kind of symphonic atmosphere from time to time, but does not hinders the message of darkness, rawness and brutality Hellspawn want to give us. Voices well executed with some variations in some moments fit perfectly with the songs presented here. 

Without doubt, this is one of the best albums I have heard this year so far.

Rate: 9.5/10

Added: June 14, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DEISIDAEMONIA  "Khthonian Hymns"

Tracklist
1. Further Down the Abyss 04:29 
2. Hades Awake 05:08 
3. Titanic Blood 03:39 
4. Prometheus Disciples 05:00 
5. Khthonian Hymns 04:41 
6. Primal Force Arrival 06:28 
7. Towards the Horizon 04:44 
8. Passing the Acheron 04:37 

Running Time: 38:46  

LINK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

DEISIDAEMONIA
"Khthonian Hymns" CD
Label: Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Greece
Fuck! I just cannot believe how much proficiency and creativity only one person can have to create such a masterpiece. This is the second production made by a solo project I’ve heard this year that has just made my brain explode! 

Deisidaemonia is a Black Metal solo project from Greece. This guy has managed to create a really good production with songs that besides being raw but well played, great vocals, riffs that vary between slow, mid pace and fast between song to song and a drums that altogether with the rest of the instruments create an atmosphere that just surrounds you and keeps you there, mesmerized by the music that “Khthonian Hymns”. Songs like “Hades Awake”, “Prometheous Disciples” or “Passing the Acheron” are just great. 

What other bands could make you have an idea of what this brings? Well, probably Varathron and Dissection may give you an idea of what you can find in “Khthonian Hymns”, however, I just would tell you that getting this production would be way worthier than just trying to imagine what it sounds like. Believe me!

Rate: 9/10

Added: June 14, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DEATH´S COLD WIND  "Subyugador - In Goat We Trust"

Tracklist
1. Intro 00:30 instrumental
2. My Hope (War.Ma.666.Doom) 04:00 
3. Gods of Depravaty 04:00 
4. O.D.I.R. 04:00 
5. Necro Sexual Averrations 04:00 
6. Total Holocaust 04:00 
7. Son of the Mourning 04:00 
8. Death Terror 04:00 
9. Bestial 04:00 
10. Satan Metal 04:00 
11. Kill to Christ 04:00 
12. In Goat We Trust (Outro) 04:00  

Running Time: 44:30  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

DEATH´S COLD WIND
"Subyugador - In Goat We Trust" CD
Label: Old Temple Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Ecuador
It is always a pleasure when you come to listen to a good material in the style you like the most, which in my case is Death Metal. And is even more pleasant when the band you are listening to is from the part of the globe you come from or near your place; and this is the case. Death’s Cold Wind are an Old School Death Metal band who bring us a four – track production with the rawness that is in some way one of characteristics that made South America famous. “Subyugator – in goat we trust” is in just a few words raw, obscure and brutal. With that typical sound some demos used to have in the times where tapes ruled, Death’s cold Wind give us a demonstration well executed brutal shit with certain influences that somehow reminded me of bands such as Abhorrence and Amputation (Pre-absu), among others. So, you can imagine what kind of music you are going to find here. 

Without doubt, this devilish, obscure and brutal production is recommended to blow your mind away. 

Rate: 9/10

Added: June 09, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

UNNATURAL  "The Path To Ruin"

Tracklist
1. Consuming Wretchedness 03:14 
2. Those Who Mourn 03:48 
3. The Grave Bride 02:58 
4. Exalted 03:44 
5. The End 05:21 

Running Time: 19:05  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

UNNATURAL
"The Path To Ruin" EP
Label: HORROR PAIN GORE DEATH Productions
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: USA
I will be straight forward... Do you like bands that sound beautifully? Do you like the modern sound some Metal bands have now and is called evolution? If it is like that, my dear friend, let me tell you with total honesty, this EP IS NOT FOR YOU!! As you read it. This two-member band are not looking for people to like it, at least not those who get on the bandwagon and follow trends. This is pure old school shit.

“The path to ruin” present us five tracks in the vein of the Old Death Metal School, with no contemplations or beautiful sound. As the tracks passed by, every riff reminded me of bands such as Accidental Suicide and, in some cases, Bolt Thrower. The vocals are awesome! Very Baphomet like, deep and powerful. Although you basically do not find blast beats in the drums, or riffs that are very fast, except for some parts of the tracks “Exalted” and “The end”, it is easy to enjoy and value the chunky, palm-silenced riffs presented in every song that this production gives us.

This is a production for those who enjoy the Old School Death Metal Demo sound from late 80s and early 90s, so if you are into this, Unnatural’s “The path to ruin” is a release you should take into consideration.

Rate: 8/10

Added: June 09, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

PUTREFACTION  "Putrefaction"

Tracklist
1. Forlorn to Suffer 05:19 
2. Irradiated Abomination 05:26 
3. Necromantic Evocations 05:49 
4. Prepared to Die 04:30 
5. Rot in Pieces 04:34 
6. Wasteland of Unspeakable Horror 04:41 
7. Death Metal Black Mass 02:55 
8. Ridden with Disease (Autopsy Cover) 05:03

Running Time: 38:17  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Ewza Lambert

 

PUTREFACTION
"Putrefaction" Demo
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2014
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: USA

Old school 4pce Death Metal from Nienberg/Weser, Germany. 7 songs at 33mins. From the beginning I felt like I had found an old sludgy Black Sabbath record, once the vocals had kicked in it was like I was listening to Chuck Schuldiner (RIP)
risen from the dead, armed with microphone. 

This demo however, titled (and I assume released) 2014, has a grim feel about itself, tastes of influence of Morbid Angel/Autopsy. Production isnt overwhelming but it sets the 'vibe' so to speak.

Bass presence is strong, again like Black Sabbath. I wasnt keen on guitar tone but it wasnt lacking. It still gave that  nostalgic feel of listening to Old School Heavy Metal. The drums are tight and energetic/enthusiastic given pace of the music. Overall, not a bad listen, good for chilling out to but not so much adrenaline pumping.

6/10

Added: June 09, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

LATRODECTUS  "Societal Demise"

Tracklist
1. Abhorrent Reminder 03:25 
2. Delusive Tendencies 03:24 
3. Oppression to Aggression 03:31 
4. Congenital Servitude 03:55 
5. Myopic Beings 03:54 
6. Nefarious Existance 04:19 
7. Societal Demise 05:08 
8. Anomalous Transmigration 04:10 

Running Time: 31:46  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

LATRODECTUS
"Societal Demise" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Blackened/Death Metal  
Country: Canada

I have had a very strong relationship with Death Metal since I was 12 years old. In my case everything started in the opposite order compared to most people who are into this underworld, and I say this because I fell in love with Metal after having listened to Sinister’s masterpiece “Cross the Styx”. I am not lying. Imagine a 12-year old guy arriving home with a cassette that contains this beautiful dark, fast music full of growls that are not so distant to be considered as the devil’s voice. Hahahaha… I will never forget the facial expressions my parents had the very first time I played that tape. EPIC! Anyway, I just say this to leave clear how much I love Death Metal, and I do it because basically that is what Latredoctus brings us, a very interesting 8-song production with good sound and quite good song writing. 

Listening to the music, there are a couple of names that are running around my head, IMMOLATION and INCANTATION. I do need to write those names in Capital letters because they deserve it. So, basically that is what we can find in “Societal Demise”, Blackened Death Metal that not only give you that brutality Death Metal needs to have, but also that feeling of obscurity the word DEATH in the style makes sense. Together with other influences such as Cannibal Corpse, musically talking, give life to this production.

However, even when the music these Canadian guys present us is good, there are a couple of things I consider must be taken into consideration: To start, at certain point the music turns a little repetitive, so it becomes predictable and somewhat boring. And secondly, despite the good vocals we can hear here, the amount of phrases growled in every riff are too many and not changing the rhythm or type/style, not allowing the listener perceive the music very well most times give the sense of having overcharged songs as all the aspects are together at the same time, almost all the time.

This is a good production, I definitely enjoyed listening to it, and I would really like to hear more from these guys, but it would be even more pleasant if both aspects mentioned above are improved.

Rate: 7/10

Added: June 07, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

CARNOSUS  "The Universal Culmination"

Tracklist
1. Mortem Iudex 03:28 
2. Shores of Oblivion 03:46 
3. The Universal Culmination 03:08 
4. Mistress of the Soil 03:15

Running Time: 13:37  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

CARNOSUS
"The Universal Culmination" EP
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Death/Thrash Metal  
Country: Sweden
Fuck! This is a good way of going to bed! Not only am I accompanied by my wife, but also we both agree that this is a good example of how to play Progressive Death Metal with some Thrash Metal influences! Yes, sirs, that is what you are going to find in this EP (I really wish it were a full length). From the moment “Mortem Ludex” starts it catches your attention, something that goes on during the four tracks “The Universal Culmination” has. 

There are certain moments in which Carnosus remind me of bands such as Beyond Creation or Cephalic Carnage, though it does not necessarily mean they sound like them all the time. Good riffs, perfect voice and a very neat execution by the part of both bass and drums create an exceptionally well written production. 

As I said before, I wish they had released a full length, but in some way, as part of marketing producing an EP first could bring better results. So, I will definitely look forward to getting some future news from these Swedish guys who are without doubt one of the bands I enjoyed the most reviewing in the last months. Congrats and thanks!

Rate: 9/10

Added: June 06, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

ASSASSIN´S BLADE  "Agents Of  Mystification"

Tracklist
1. Agents of Mystification 04:38 
2. Herostratos 04:36 
3. The Demented Force 03:18 
4. Dreadnought 04:19 
5. Autumn Serenade 04:29 
6. Transgression 03:01 
7. Nowhere Riders 04:05 
8. Crucible of War 03:51 
9. Frosthammer 05:05 
10. League of the Divine Wind 09:09 
11. Prophet's Urn 03:31 

Running Time: 50:02  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

ASSASSIN´S BLADE
"Agents of Mystification" CD
Label: Pure Steel Records
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Heavy/Speed Metal  
Country: Canada/Sweden

I must be honest and say that starting some time ago every time I hear or read the word “assassin’s”, the word “creed” comes to my mind to complement the phrase. Though I am not into video/computer games, the fact of having listened to my brother and some people I know mentioning it, and added to it having seen it in books every time I go to a bookstore made have that fixed idea in my mind. Anyway, we are not here to talk about it but music, so that is what I did, I played the music this band offer us in this 11-track production and what I heard took me in time trip back to the times I started listening to Metal in early 90s (sorry, I cannot talk about the 80s since I was born in 1980, I hope you understand, hehehe). It reminded me of the times of bands like Agent Steel, Tyrant, Exciter, and somehow Judas Priest (this basically due to the voice) or even King Diamond. Yes, we are talking about a traditional Heavy Speed Metal band. Once I had this impression, I decided to check some information regarding this band that completely changed my view and I found some interesting facts that helped me clarify the point: Fact one –Jacques Bélanger (yes, that Bélanger from Canadian Exciter) was the vocalist, and in the guitars there was David Stranderud (ex Devil Lee Rot, ex Autopsy Torment…) who with other two Swedish musicians form this interesting act.

I think that after having read the previous description you can make a clear mental image of what you can listen to whenever you get this production. You are right CLASSIC HEAVY METAL. No new trends are added to this style, something that you, if you are basically a purist, will definitely enjoy. Hmmmm… but, what if you are not too much into the old sound? Well, there is a point. You may like it, but there are some things that could make this release not be one of your favorite. As in my case, I do like Heavy Metal, but it is not the genre that necessarily drives me crazy, and I really like what I am listening to at this moment (“Agents of Mystification”, obviously), but it is most because it brings good memories to my mind and in some way it makes me remember those good times that very often seem not to come back.

Musically talking, instrumentation is very neat, well executed with good riffs that offer a good variation in all the songs and interesting solos. The vocals are perfect for the style Assassin’s Blade play, deep in certain moments, strong enough to make you feel the power needed in this style, and falsettos that accompany well the main voice from time to time, though these last are too ala Rob Halford, something that is found in different Power Metal bands nowadays.

As I said before, this is a very good production, but it mainly depends on your preferences regarding Heavy Metal to enjoy it more or less.

Rate: 7/10

Added: June 05, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

OROBAS  "Arise In Impurity"

Tracklist
1. Ode to Impurity (Intro) 
2. The Ravana 
3. Lord Ramesses 
4. Bad Blood Hunter 
5. Black Metal (Venom cover) 

Running Time: 17:29  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

OROBAS
"Arise In Impurity" EP
Label:
Black Lion Prods.
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Blackened Death Metal  
Country: Bangladesh

It seems that the eastern part of the globe has decided to impress us this year. I have heard many good productions so far and actually, in some way, this is not an exception. Orobas is a band that comes from Bangladesh, who with this EP, their very first release, they want to say to us: HERE WE ARE!

How to define the music these guys play? Well, generally talking, it could be labeled as Blackened Death Metal. There are certain parts in this production that remind me of Impiety. Though it is not necessarily completely influenced by the previously mentioned band, you can find some aspects that bring them to our mind, but with a very notorious difference, the vocals. I actually like the death metal growls used in their songs.

This production has five tracks, being one of them Venom’s hymn “Black Metal”. To be honest, I did not like this version of the classic, probably because of the distortion the guitars use, or because it did not have the power I would expect songs like this to have, but it does not mean that it is a bad cover.  

Even when the music Orobas present us here is not completely aggressive, the mid-pace riffs the songs have make us possible to enjoy certain aspects of their composition, as the acoustic part in “Bad Blood Hunter”, which I consider the best track of this EP.

Interesting production; not original but enjoyable. I must say I would like to listen to them again in a close future, but with a better sound production that time.

Rate: 5/10

Added: June 03, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

PSYTHON  "...Outputs"

Tracklist
1. Introfruit 00:39 
2. Careless Whispers 05:09 
3. Dave 1.1 01:55 
4. Blunt 03:43 
5. GBO 03:08 
6. Trust in Us 02:21 
7. DNA 05:56 
8. Serpentes 03:41 
9. Opposition 03:18 
10. Meltdown 03:54 
11. Fatality 02:53 
12. gRapefruit 04:46 

Running Time: 41:23  

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

PSYTHON
"...Outputs" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Thrash Metal  
Country: UK

It is true that most people usually judge from the first sight they have of something. It is even more when talking about Metal maniacs, who usually take things seriously regarding the music they like; and I must confess, though is not too easy to do it, that it was exactly what happened to me as soon as I saw the pictures (a snake besides the digipack, etc.) of this production and after I read some of the titles the tracks have. ‘It’s a cognitive conflict’ I said to friend of mine just at the moment I saw what I mentioned. But it was not a bad indicator: it got my attention. And it surely blew my mind once I played it! Have you ever felt the need to leave everything behind and just join the mosh? Well, that was actually what happened to me after the first riffs of “Careless whispers”! (No! it is not Wham’s song!) I know, I know, I am actually at work, so I cannot do that… but it just boiled my blood and produced that effect on me. So, How can I define Psython? Thrash Metal with certain influences of NWBHM in some parts and Speed in others.

The riffs are killer in most of the 12 tracks this release has. Just imagine listening to a mix of Havoc, Exodus, Municipal Waste; it is just explosive! Being just a trio, they managed really well to excel in the instrumentation. This is a production that does not present a monotonous fast Thrash Metal, but it has a variety or riffs with different influences musically talking, which makes this even more interesting.

However, there was only one thing I think does not fit completely with the killing machine the band present in this release, and that is the voice. I would just expect to have a more aggressive voice to make this a complete massive killing weapon.

Points: 9/10

Added: June 03, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

EUFORI  "Värdelös"

Tracklist
1. Eufori 05:22
2. Inget Mer 05:48
3. Låt Snön Falla (Vanhelga cover) 04:48 

Running Time: 15:58 

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

EUFORI
"Värdelös" EP
Label: Black Lion Prods.
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Sweden

This is an interesting production to review, even though I am not into this kind of music. Only three tracks are the ones that Eufori presents in their 2016 EP released by Black Lion Productions. How to define their style is kind of hard in some way. I can find some Depressive Black Metal influences, but at the same time some sort of Dark as well. There are certain times in which their riffs remind me of bands such as Fields of the Nephilim and others in that vein, but obviously with a very noticeable difference that is the desperate shouts Eufori presents in this “Vardelos”, and the acoustic guitars presented in the middle of their second song entitled “Inget Mer”. Other thing I must say is that there is not much variation in the mid-paced and slow parts. It is in some way like listening to some indie-dark-DBM act, which in some way is interesting, though I, personally, would not listen to it very often due to my preferences in Metal.

With two songs and a cover of Vanhelga, timing 15 minutes, this could be an option some people who are not into pure metal could enjoy. 


Points 7/10

Added: June 03, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DEFIATORY  "Extinct"

Tracklist
1. The Final Conflict
2. Reaper
3. Aeons End 
4. Dogs Of War
5. Extinct
6. Destiny
7. The Black Vortex
8. Furor Unleashed 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

DEFIATORY
"Extinct" CD
Label: Black Lion Prods.
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Thrash Metal  
Country: Sweden
Thrash metal!!! Definitely that is what you are going to listen from second number one. Defiatory definitely know what they are doing. Most of the eight tracks “Extinct” brings us is influenced by the Bay Area Thrash of late 90s.  If you want some kind of reference to have a mental picture (or sound), just think of “The Gathering” by Americans Testament as part of the influences, musically talking. 

On the other hand, regarding the vocals, I really enjoyed the mix with the shouts that Martin Runnzell uses, they remind me of those old Sepultura golden times. But this is not the only things you can find in this definitely great release. The use of some blast beats and those from time to time death metal screams give certain aggressiveness that makes want to be into the pit or head banging track after track.

Even though trash is not necessarily my cup of tea, I’ve listened to Defiatory’s “Extinct” more than four times since I was sent this production, and I don’t get tired of doing it. Definitely recommended!

Added: June 01, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

HYPERION  "Seraphical Euphony"

Tracklist
1. Remnants of the Fallen 02:08 
2. Novus Ordo Seclorum 06:59 
3. Flagellum Dei 05:07 
4. Seraphical Euphony 08:20 
5. Moral Evasion 05:20 
6. Primal Cosmic Ascendancy 04:56 
7. Zephyr of Grace 04:58 
8. Empyrean Yearning 05:35 
9. Blood of the Ancients 08:02 

Running Time: 51:25 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Darkest G.

 

HYPERION
"Seraphical Euphony" CD
Label: Black Lion prods.
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Melodic Black/Death Metal  
Country: Sweden

There are two things that basically caught my attention when I got this production. For starter, the cover; secondly, the first track entitled “Remnants of the fallen”. Let’s start with the latter. The first time I heard this track, at the beginning, it took me to a dark, gloomy place which I felt as cold but mysterious. It definitely made me want for more.  And it did bring more, and it was good indeed! Now, let’s go back to the first point I had mentioned, the cover. When I saw it, there were two “words” that came to my mind and that have a very strong connotation in both the Melodic and the Extreme Metal world: Dissection and Emperor. And that was what I found starting the first riff of “Novus Ordo Seclorum”.

Hyperion’s  “Seraphical Euphony” is without doubt the kind of production you can’t get over if you like this subgenre. It is melodic and aggressive at the same time, both having the equilibrium it needs to have to be a good mix. Besides this, the harsh voices used by Harry Lauraéus and certain death metal moments in the drums create an atmosphere that, together with the keyboards, are definitely memorable. The acoustic guitars, that introduce most of the tracks this release has, take you to a break ,filled with a horror and classic sound, to then give you more of what Hyperion know to do well, excellent Melodic Black Metal.

Some other bands you may also find as influence are Watain and, from time to time, some of Vinterland.

With 9 tracks and a total timing of 52 minutes, there is no more to say that if you are looking for some kind of new and good Melodic Black Metal act that you will not get tired of listening to, so this production is for you.

Added: June 01, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

EFFIGY  "The Unreachable"

Tracklist
1. Six Million Ways to Die 
2. The Unreachable 
3. To Death (2800°C) Cancer 
4. Numbers 
5. No Comment 
6. Saturday Night Blood 
7. It Gets Empty  

Running Time: 37:16 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Ewza Lambert

 

EFFIGY
"The Unreachable" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Switzerland
Old School Death Metal from Bern, Switzerland. These guys formed in 1993 and after 22 years, finally released their first full length album, The Unreachable. Delivering some old school metal, guitars are crunchy with some clean strings here and there to break up the battering grooves.

Drums are solid, packing a well deserved punch in the mix. The bass tone didnt sit too well with me personally, but still somewhat rumbles into the mix well. The production is great, vocals blend well with the music. This album is like a mixture of Suffocation, Obituary, Six Feet Under and maybe Amon Amarth. After such a long wait, this is worth it for the style it is, these Swiss lads delivered hard. Its not boring, its not in your face annoying, a decent listen especially when mellowing out to some metal!!

\m/ 6/10

https://soundcloud.com/effigyswitzerland 

Added: May 24, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

HELLSODOMY  "Sodomy Is Nigh"

Tracklist
1. Impurity 
2. Total Disgust 
3. Bring Them Chaos 
4. Bayonets 
5. Masochistic Molestation 
6. Menstruation Blood on the Pentagram 
7. Sodomy and Bloodshed 
8. Satanic Bloodlust 

Running Time: 30:48 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Ewza Lambert

 

HELLSODOMY
"Sodomy Is Nigh" EP
Label: Barbarian Wrath
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: Turkey
4pce Old School sounding GoreGrind/Thrash from Kadikoy, Istanbul (Turkey). I feel like these guys would kick ass live because this EP did not disappoint. Although only 4 songs, there is still 15min of aural sodomy. Guitars cutting through your skull like axes should, consistant barrage of beats from the drums with a strong backbone. Didnt quite pick up the pace as much as Id personally  prefer, but for those who like theyre metal a little more tame, you should be pleased with this EP easily.

I would say a Carcass/Exhumed like approach to music, with vocal similarities. This would suit most collections for the heavier metal lovers.

\m/ 7/10

https://hellsodomy.bandcamp.com/album/sodomy-is-nigh
 

Added: May 24, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

NEVER TO ARISE  "Gore Whores on the Killing Floor"

Tracklist
1. Butcher Knife Birth Control 
2. Razor Sliced Hemophiliac 
3. Fornicating in the Blood of the Mutilated 
4. Boiled Alive in Battery Acid 
5. A Most Unwilling Organ Donor 
6. To Cum Is to Die 
7. Open Heart Punching Bag 
8. Severed and Embalmed 
9. Anatomically Pulverised 
10. Last Supper 

Running Time: 40:48 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Mike Mieland

 

NEVER TO ARISE
"Gore Whores on the Killing Floor" CD
Label: Cimmerian Shade Recordings
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death Metal  
Country: USA
This album starts out with a bang!! Very heavy. This kind of reminds me of a wonderful blend that combines old school gory, evil vocals, and lyrics with chunky head banging riffs.. But the technicality and skill level possessed by everyone involved is just flat out extremely impressive.

No really. REALLY. The guitar work is just awesome. So fast. So precise. So incredible! Cant say enough good about the strings here. I love me some sweepy technical stuff mixed in with chuggy riffs. I can't find any faults in their playing. For being so fast and technical, it's amazing how consistenly crazed these guys seem to stay throughout. The squeels these guitars make will haunt you're nightmares.. Or give you a pleasant day dream. 

Depending who you are I guess. Vocally, I love the very deep stuff here. The other stuff sounds good too, but those gurgles are so very brutal. This guy literally can sound like a clogged drain. 

As i said before, I cant say it enough, Very very awesome drumming and solo work throughout this CD. These men are MACHINES. If you're a modern metal fan, don't get turned off by the crazy cover art or gory subject matter. And if you're an old school fan, just deal with the crazy fret work, it will draw you in and have you bobbing you're head eventually. (Don't be an elitist anyway. Lol) 

The songs kind of blend together a tad, but the sound these dudes achieve is nothing short of INCREDIBLE. Furthermore, I always felt the gore themed stuff kind of ran it's course.. Lets be real.. how many different ways can you sing about murdering someone before it just loses it's desired effect and becomes comical? But with these guys, I feel it works well for them.. because the instrumentals literally sound like they are coming to tear you soul apart.

PROS- Stellar production value. Insane musicianship. Relentlessly heavy. All in all it's just a really fun listen if you're a fan of death metal.

Cons- judging by the song titles, lyrically we have been here a million times.. And that's ok! IT FITS THEM.

4/5 (those GUITARS! WOW.)

Added: May 13, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

NEPENTE  "I WIll Get Your Soul"

Tracklist
1. I Will Get Your Soul 
2. Show Me That You Are Suffering 
3. Gray Lands 
4. Last Rites 

Running Time: 20:58 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Mike Mieland

 

NEPENTE
"I Will Get Your Soul" EP
Label: Cimmerian Shade Recordings
Release Date: 2015
Genre: Death Black Metal  
Country: Colombia

Have you ever heard that you cannot judge a book by it's cover? Well you cannot judge the first 40 seconds of a death metal demo either.

At first, I almost thought I was sent the wrong material to review. Then WOW. I was hit by a wall of sound that can only be described as 100% cacophony. These guys are brutal! I literally had to restart the first song 3 times to wrap my brain around what I was hearing. As soon as those high pitched, witch like howls, started with the gravity blasts I instantly thought of Origin. This group of tunes is mind bending fast. A literal vortex of heavy shredding and out of this world drumming. 

This is a hurricane that id just begging to be released upon you're senses. If you are metal enough, you might make it through these songs. All in all I am beyond pleasantly surprised. The songs all have an increasingly urgent feeling to them. I basically want to run from a pitch fork wielding Frankenstein while hearing this stuff.

This band rules! And if you like obnoxiously fast riffs with positively crushing drums that will leave you're brain half dispatched, but begging for more, these guys are right up you're alley.

Absolutely would recommend this to fans of Origin or Soreption. 

Bon appetit! 5/5. No I am not being overzealous. LISTEN TO THIS NOW.

Added: May 12, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DAAT "There Are None So Blind As Those That Will Not See"

Tracklist
1. From the Sheer Void and Nothingness 
2. Alterare of the Greatest Abyss 
3. Ascended Above All Humanity 
4. Illuminating Whereas Withering 
5. Scarlet Down of Obsolete Aeon 

Running Time: 19:53 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Emil Frøsig

 

DAAT
"There Are None So Blind As Those That Will Not See" 
Label: HERETIC REX
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Black Metal  
Country: Russia

Daat is a Russian black metal band with a love for long song titles and disharmonic tremolo riffs.
Their album ''Are None So Blind As Those That Will Not See'' (or ''ANSBATTWNS'' in short) contains 5 tracks and are except for 2 instrumental tracks, everyday angry black metal about occult ideologies and witchcraft.

The album opens with the beautifully dark ''From the Sheer Void and Nothingness'' which sets the tone for the rest of the record and makes you wonder what Daat has in store for you next.
And then mediocrity ensues. 
The 3 main tracks ''Alterare of the Greatest Abyss'', ''Ascended Above All Humanity'', and ''Illuminating Whereas Withering'' is a none-stop barrage of grind riffs, blast beats and grating vocals.
The musicians on this record are with outadoubt immensely talented, but there is little to no originality or creativity to find here.
When listening to this album, I could never really tell the songs apart, except for the 3 second pauses between each track, and I found myself pretty bored, pretty quickly.
And that is not say that the songs are badly written, there is just only one setting: Kill and destroy.
And for 15 minutes straight that becomes a bit of a snore fest to me.

So all in all, Daat would be better off working some breakdowns and various tempo alterations into their music.
And maybe work on the song titles.

4/10

Added: April 08, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

TRAGACANTH "Antology Of The East"

Tracklist
1. Rebirth 
2. The First Noble Truth 
3. Birth of a Goddess 
4. The Gates of Naraka 
5. Kutayuddha 
6. God of Hell 
7. Destroyer of Worlds 
8. Edimmu 

Running Time: 43:51 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Emil Frøsig

 

TRAGACANTH
"Antology Of The East" 
Label: LOUD RAGE Music
Release Date: December 12nd, 2015
Genre: Black Death Metal  
Country: Netherlands

''Anthology of the East'' is an album by the band Tragacanth from the Netherlands, and comes with a complete abundance of grinding riffs and thunderous double kick playing.

Tragacanth plays a vicious combination of death and black metal, but on this release the black metal part is very apparent - and far superior. Just as I like best: Dark and tragic.

The album contains 8 tracks, and from the first track ''Rebirth'' to the last ''Edimmu'' Tragacanth mixes black metal riffs, blast beats, death metal vocals, and an extreme high amount of musical skill into a huge melting pot and throws out a lot of good ideas and well played songs.
There is a lot of interesting things to note on this album, especially the intro to ''Birth of Goddess'' which for a second made me think I had just entered Lut Gholein - Diablo players will get this one.
I like the production, it has a nice natural vibe to it, and at all times does the focus stay on what is important - the atmosphere.
While listening to this album, a major key element was indeed atmosphere, and Tragacanth knows exactly where to put emphasis on the tone of the song, and
give the onslaught a rest.
However, that being said, there was one element I really did not like - the piano parts.
As said before, the production is nice. It is not flawless, but it is solid. It is simple, but effective. It is not exactly a Hollywood production, but.. You get the point.
Now, keeping that in mind, adding piano parts to the mix, with a very clear midi-like crisp quality to it, it clashes with the rest of the music.
While the guitars, drums, vocals, bass and so forth are all tucked nicely together in the mix, the piano parts are layered above all the other instruments, and are very distracting. Luckily they are not too frequent, but they have a fair share.

Apart from that I find my self enjoying most of what ''Anthology of the East'' has to offer.
Great songwriting, and great playing.
Great guitar work, brilliant drumming(even gives Krimh a run for his money), and good vocals, not outstanding, but good.

Can't wait to hear more.

8/10

Added: April 08, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

CHEMICAL FINGERPRINT "Unknown"

Tracklist
1. Drooling Slaughter 
2. Delusional Fragments(ft. Ricky Parker)
3. Poseidon's Wrath 
4. My Death For YOU 
5. Newz 2Day (Hello Djentz) 
6. Failed By All  

Running Time: 24:45 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Ewza Lambert

 

CHEMICAL FINGERPRINT
"Unknown" 
Label: Independent
Release Date: November 3rd, 2015
Genre: Progressive Death-Gore-Metal/ Dethno  
Country: USA

An interesting release from the lads in Chemical Fingerprint, once a one man band but now a 3 piece from Texas, USA. Straight up metal with a little progressive tech/djent presence. A great listen laden with gorey grooves and head-banging riffs. 
The guitar tone is a little thrashy but sits well in the mix, it seems to vary slightly but doesnt take much (if anything) away from the guitarist or listening experience. 
Drums are solid and include a guest appearance from the likes of Kevin Talley (Suffocation). The vocals compliment the music well, some parts better than others, with a husky gore approach and cool effects here and there. 
An Electro/Synth song, or Dethno as they call it, makes for an interesting yet entertaining appearance, progressing into a Djent like metal song after some cool psychedelic leads. 
Besides the Dethno, the production isnt too over the top and everything blends together well, a release worth checking out.


\m/ 7/10

https://chemicalfingerprint.bandcamp.com/ 

Added: Mar.20, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

PSYCHOTIC "Demo"

Tracklist
1. Slaughter 
2. Scattered Brains 
3. Stab Twist Kill 

Running Time: 06:06 

FACEBOOK »

Reviewed by: Emil Frøsig

 

PSYCHOTIC
"Demo" 
Label: Independent
Release Date: february 19th, 2016
Genre: Thrash Metal 
Country: Turkey

Psychotic is a 3-piece trash band from Turkey, and has released a self titled demo containing 3 tracks.

Before writing this review I wanted to do a little research, but no matter where I look, I can not find these guys, so everything will be pure speculating. Which is good when being objective, right?

Psychotic doesn't waste their time on this demo, they are fast, straight to the point, and in your face.
As mentioned before Psychotic has their roots in trash metal, but the songs are a good mix of punk and even a little hint of black metal.
I like the approach, and the instrumentation is solid. I especially like to point out the drummer and the guitarist for great stamina, and great guitar solos.
I am not a huge fan of the singer though. 
There's not so much singing going on, but rather punctuated talking, which kinds of takes the breath out of the music, and undermines the riffing a little bit.
I also had a hard time telling the songs apart, and with a total runtime of 6.06 minutes, it might as well be one song.

So, in short - like the demo it self - this is a decent release, nothing really stands out but if you're a fan of trashy punk rock, you might enjoy this.
A decent start. 5/10

Added: Mar.16, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SYCAMYRE "Sycamyre"

Tracklist
1. Invasive Species 
2. Skullknocker 
3. Absolute Zero 
4. Scream Therapy 
5. Intro 
6. The Archangel of Apocalypse 
7. The Killing Cold 
8. Man the Ditch 
9. Soul of the Storm 
10. The End of Subjection 
11. Sycamyre 

Running Time: 53:07 

FACEBOOK »
HOMEPAGE »
SOUNDCLOUD »

Reviewed by: Emil Frøsig

 

SYCAMYRE
"Sycamyre" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: Septemberr 01st, 2015
Genre: Metal/Rock 
Country: USA

Sycamyre is a band from USA playing ''rock/metal''.
Last year they released a CD of the same name, containing 11 tracks.

And where do I begin with this.
I had a hard time distinguishing what I wanted to write about this release, since the band throws so much at you on every track, all the time.
Now, don't get me wrong, I actually enjoyed this for the most part, but there's just so much going on constantly, and it's hard to keep track.
But let's look at what we have:
Sycamyre states on their Facebook that they play ''rock/metal'' but I'd much rather call it sludgy trash, infused with everything from heavy, power, horror,
black metal and punk, and even a few acoustic tracks, but I'll get back to that. 
While Sycamyre do seem to know in which direction they want their music to go, it's unclear to me how they want to convey it.
The production is a bit of a mess, nothing is really in focus and it comes off a bit sloppy. However, I can hear the bass quite clearly, which is rare for this
type of music. 
The guitar tone for the most part, however, is terrible, but it adds to the trashy feel.
Every instrument on this record has a voice and everyone in the band has the spotlight - for better or worse. 
If I had to use one word to describe to vocals it would be ''interesting''. Interesting in the sense that Ben Belote does have a cool voice, while
also manage to do some really high pitch screams. 
When writing notes for this review I was constantly reminded of a barrage of different bands like Rage Against the Machines, Cinema Strange and even My Chemical Romance. If the band has a typical front growler, it'll probably be less likable.

Now the acoustic songs.
The majority of ''Sycamyre'' has an abundance of grinding riffs, soaring vocals, and generally just a lot of noise, but the album includes 2 acoustic guitar tracks.
''Intro'' and ''Sycamyre'' are for me the absolute best part of the record. They are well written and really well executed, and are nice and well-needed breaks
in all the madness.

So in conclusion, I think 'Sycamyre' is a fairly decent release. It's definitely not for everybody, but if you like the kind of manic madness, that this band
produces, then it's for you.
One apparent thing about this CD is that it's quite clear that Sycamyre is having fun with their music. And that is very important.
And even though 9 songs are a little too much for such vivid chaos I still think it was a fun ride, especially with the acoustic tracks.

''Sycamyre'' gets a 5/10

Added: Mar.03, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

OLD WOLF "Old Wolf"

Tracklist
1. Old Wolf 
2. Trail of Tears 
3. Your Keeper 

Running Time: 15:24 

FACEBOOK »
BANDCAMP »

Reviewed by: Emil Frøsig

 

OLD WOLF
"Old Wolf" Demo
Label: Independent
Release Date: December 12th, 2015
Genre: Heavy Metal 
Country: USA

Old Wolf is a heavy metal band from USA. They released their first(?) demo of the same name last year, holding 3 tracks.

The music is straight forward guitar driving classic heavy metal, with a nice old school 80's vibe to it.
The production is good for demo standards, although I kind of miss a little more punch in regards to the drum sound.
But first things first: The good stuff.
Generally speaking, the instrumentation on this demo is good. The guitars for example are well played and well harmonized, with the bands two guitarist beings excellent lead as well as rhythm guitarists. 
I like the ''Iron Maiden meets Ozzy Osbourne'' feel I get and the band seems to know what they're doing and how they want to portray their music. As much as I would like a little more edge on the drum sound, the drumming itself is also good. It's tight and the drummer knows how to follow in line with the music.
The demo also contains some acoustic guitars in the intro of ''Old Wolf'' and midway through ''Your Keeper'', which I find to be really good and atmospheric, and it fits in quite nicely with the rest.

And the bad stuff.
The vocals. I am not a huge fan of the singer. He seems to be a little out of tune all the time, and as if he is constantly pushing himself beyond his capability. 
And that's not to say he is a bad singer or he is wrong for the band, but some vocal training and a little restriction - if not moderation - would help the overall sound of the music.

So all in all, I find Old Wolf to be a great band, with some great musicians.
Hope I get to hear a full length album with a better production and better vocals.
I give Old Wolf's ''Old Wolf'' a solid 7/10.

Added: Mar.03, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

SKYHEX "Lake Of Bones"

Tracklist
1. Hangman Hangover 
2. Be a Man 
3. Fate 
4. Empty Soul 
5. Isefet 
6. Savior of Metal 
7. Black Owl 

Running Time: 36:57 

FACEBOOK »
BANDCAMP »

Reviewed by: Steve Hughes

 

SKYHEX
"Lake of Bones" CD
Label: Independent
Release Date: December 01st, 2015
Genre: Thrash Metal 
Country: Canada

Skyhex hail from Canada and in true Canadian Metal style they’ve offered up an interesting take on Thrash Metal. Lake of Bones is for the most part a slow burning release. 

It’s taken me a couple of listens to get into the vocals which are perhaps the most eccentric feature of this release and are varied throughout. Some enjoyable riffing too, though for a ‘Thrash’ band they seem very averse to outright speed and most of the material here is slow to mid-paced, especially the first half of the EP. 

Things gain momentum with the later tracks. All in all this is a promising release and in modern Thrash terms that is a compliment, while most of modern Thrash remains as dull as ditch water, Skyhex manage to offer some interesting variations on this venerable Metal genre without leaving its roots behind. 

Lake of Bones is available now as a digital download and as a limited (100 copies) CD from their Bandcamp.

Added: Feb.26, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

THE CRAWLING "In Light Of Dark Days"

Tracklist
1. The Right to Crawl
2. End of the Rope
3. Catatonic 

Running Time: 19:12 

FACEBOOK »
YOUTUBE »
BANDCAMP »

Reviewed by: Steve Hughes

 

THE CRAWLING
"In Light Of Dark Days" EP
Label: Grindscene Records
Release Date: October 23rd, 2015
Genre: Death Doon 
Country: United Kingdom

Stuart Rainey (Bass & Vocals), Andy Clarke (Guitar & Vocals) and Gary Beattie (Drums) comprise this trio of long serving metal-heads from Northern Ireland, collectively known since 2014 as The Crawling.

‘In Light of Dark Days’ is the second release from the band, following the ‘Choking on Concrete’ single released earlier in 2015, and is the culmination of a long journey for the bands individual members: (Stuart hailed from 90's death metal band Severance, Andy fronted Honey For Christ for fourteen years, and Gary Beattie is still blasting for Zombified.)

‘The Right to Crawl’ oozes into existence with a ten tonne slab of a doom riff leading to the misanthropic hatred of the lyrics - gutturally growled (while never losing any of their comprehensibility) and often black as well as death metal influenced. The band are tight as fuck and the clear, powerful production translates the crushing slow Death/Doom sonic attack of The Crawling perfectly.

‘End of the Rope’ follows and further reveals the core themes of the bands music; despair and anguish. The literacy of the lyrics is a really strong feature throughout. Here, a fairly clear narrative combines with a poetically cryptic expression and traverse’s dark worlds haunted by suicidal phantoms.

‘Catatonic’ opens with rolling thunder and tolling guitar and bass culminating in a roar and grinding misery and the contempt for humanity that is integral within The Crawling’s output so far. If ‘In Light of Dark Days’ is anything to go by this Irish trio should go from strength to strength and I will certainly be following their dark journey. Excellent.

Added: Feb.22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

A SABLE OPIATE "A Passage to the Yews"

Tracklist
1. A Passage to the Yews (Intro) 
2. Dark Clouds Have Gathered
3. Champion of the Pariah 
4. Beasts of the Black Apex 
5. Summon the Plague 
6. Isaac's Drowning 

Running Time: 28:05 

FACEBOOK »
YOUTUBE »
BANDCAMP »

Reviewed by: Steve Hughes

 

A SABLE OPIATE
"A Passage to the Yews" EP
Label: Independent
Release Date: January 05th, 2016
Genre: Melodic Black Metal 
Country: Germany

I’ll say straight away that I am not very interested in the melodic end of the Black Metal genre, preferring the barbaric primitive style. However, I’m not averse to a melody per-se and Dusseldorf’s A Sable Opiate offer plenty of those here on their debut release. 

The problem is, it’s all a bit dull. The band’s been together since 2011-12 and if four years later this is the best material you can come up with, I’d be worried. Sure there are a couple of good tracks: Champion of the Pariah being the standout, but the rest is very much diet black metal. 

Some nice riffs weave throughout this six track album and the guitars are the standout feature. 

Vocals are guttural but pretty clear and understandable, the lyrics translate the bands themes of emotional transcendence and nature well, but the clean vocals on the closer, Isaac’s Drowning are ill-fitting and don’t really work – to my hearing at least. This falls into the “would have made a good 3 track EP”. 

The six tracks here don’t offer anything new, the drums sound weak and I don’t think I’ll play this again.

Added: Feb.22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

DEMORPHED "The Garden Of Bones"

Tracklist
1. Intro 
2. The Garden of Bones 
3. Full Spectrum 
4. Interlude 
5. From Beyond 
6. The Question 
7. Return to Sirius 

Running Time: 22:28 

FACEBOOK »
HOMEPAGE »
SOUNDCLOUD »

Reviewed by: Steve Hughes

 

DEMORPHED
"The Garden of Bones" EP
Label: Independent
Release Date: October 15th, 2015
Genre: Death Metal 
Country: Germany
Demorphed formed in Southern Germany in 2010. Influenced by Vader, Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel and other skull crushing legends, The Garden of Bones is their first EP and follows five years of live shows with the likes of Fleshcrawl, Dew Scented and Disbelief. 

The obligatory ethereal intro leads directly to the title track – a furious assault that grabs you by the throat and punches you in the teeth - it’s a killer slab of in-your-face Metal that and immediately sums up Demorphed and their vision of society. 
‘Full Spectral Domination’ follows…a grinding riff with some brutal vocals from Frank. 

Strangely on such a short release, there is an ‘Interlude’, which had me imagining the lift music between the levels in Hell! The doors open and we step into the maelstrom once more with ‘From Beyond’, another killer track and like everything else here offers an array of time changes, blasts follow gargantuan slices of guitar and bass and again Frank’s vocals are varied enough in expression to prevent the boredom that often accompanies modern death metal vocals. The band are tight and brutal…just the way this music should be played. 

‘The Question’ and ‘Return to Sirius’ (my personal favourite) close this excellent debut EP with the same fury that permeates every track here. Highly recommended.

The Garden of Bones is available to download and as a CD (limited to 500 copies) now.

Added: Feb.22, 2016

..........::::::::::..........

  All Rights Reserved The Pain Fucktory